Quilt Spot December 2020

The only ‘spots’ of the month came on the last day of the year, when we were looking for a movie to watch after our New Year’s Eve meal that would finish just before midnight after which our plan was to nip outside into the garden and greet the New Year by toasting marshmallows on the fire and making wishes for 2021. (I had hoped to watch many ‘Christmas’ movies over the festive period, which I was sure would feature lots of quilts in them. I was told Holidate had a nice quilt, but we never got round to watching it! And we watched ‘The Holiday’ again, but alas… no quilts!)

The movie we watched was the new adaptation of ‘Rebecca’ – the gothic novel by Daphne Du Maurier. I remember seeing the original 1940 movie directed by Alfred Hitchcock when in my teens, and the new version, I feel, is just a good. I described it to my daughters as a psychological ghost story but without a ghost. It makes for uncomfortable viewing at times, as many of the characters are very cruel to the lead character and narrator, the new Mrs De Winter, played by Lily James, who is always living in the shadow of the first Mrs De Winter, Rebecca. As the story progresses, the true nature of the main characters are revealed. It’s a great movie and well worth watching.

I spotted two quilts in the movie – both appeared in ‘servants’ quarters. The first was when the new Mrs de Winter, was working (before her marriage) as a ‘companion’ to a rich American lady; the quilt was on the bed in the little servants room within the large and grandiose hotel suite occupied by her employer. In close up shots you can clearly see the stitching. In one scene it looks like a cream coloured wholecloth quilt, but in another scene in the same room, the quilt appears to be duo tone, pink and grey. The other quilt is in the housekeeper’s room in the De Winter’s house Manderley. Again, this appears to be a wholecloth quilt.

Have you spotted any quilts in movies or on the telly? I’d love to know, drop me a line and share your spots with me!

Till next time,

Mel x

Click here for an A-Z list of my quilt spots.

Published by

Melony Patch

Patchwork quilter into all things crafty and homely, and with an interest in mental well-being.

6 thoughts on “Quilt Spot December 2020”

  1. Happy New year Melony.
    We watched ‘The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society’ and I pointed out several quilts to my bemused Husband and son! You’ve got me in the habit of quilt spotting! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi! I have spotted a quilt in the Netflix series named YOU. Episode 9 or 10, not sure, when he keeps Beck locked in the glass cage, he tries to comfort her and cover her with a quilt. I was trying to search for a photo of it and I bumped into your lovely blog!
    Regards from Brazil! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment