Quilt Spot July 2020

Following no spots in June, there is only one spot to report on for July, and that is ‘Groundhog Day’, which given the situation we’re living in at the moment, seems quite apt, as most days seem the same.

Even my youngest daughter commented this to me, as the summer holidays started and ‘home-schooling‘ came to an end… nothing seems to have changed. Lockdown restrictions are easing but we, as a family, are still being very cautious about what we do.

I’ve watched ‘Groundhog Day’ so many times; it’s a movie I always find amusing. But this time was the first I had watched it since writing my ‘Quilt Spots’. Funny how with most movies, if I spot a quilt, it’s only on screen for a few seconds… but with ‘Groundhog Day’ we get plenty of viewings of the quilt as the main character, self-centred celebrity weatherman Phil Connors, played by Bill Murray, wakes up morning after morning to relive the same day, and on his hotel bed is a lovely scrappy quilt made of of small squares of floral fabrics set against a white/cream background. If you miss it once, don’t worry, you’ll see it again when Phil makes more wrong choices and has to relive the day again.

Quit Spot – Groundhog Day

Of course, comparing the lockdown/pandemic situation to ‘Groundhog Day’ isn’t really accurate. Although there has been some debate about what the movie means, for me it’s a clear message that if you do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got. That, and that what’s important in life is being kind, thoughtful and helpful towards others.

Have you spotted any quilts in movies? I’d love to know! Drop me a line and share your ‘spots’ with me!

Till next time.

Mel x

Click here for an A-Z list of my quilt spots.

Published by

Melony Patch

Patchwork quilter into all things crafty and homely, and with an interest in mental well-being.

2 thoughts on “Quilt Spot July 2020”

Leave a comment