‘Best home-school teacher ever’

The end of this school year has been unlike any other… as has most of the year so far. Usually towards the end of term there are lots of celebrations and get-togethers, but this year, there has been none of that.

Last year’s end-of-school year celebrations seem a long time ago…

My eldest hasn’t been in school since March, and my youngest popped into her school one day last week to say goodbye to her teacher and to spend some time with the ones she’ll have in September. The school had a number of safety procedures in place – my daughter had her temperature taken as she arrived at school, and all the children were sat outside on chairs that were spaced two metres apart. It’s all so strange.

As it was the last time my youngest was to see her current teachers, I had, of course to make some gifts for them. I love making little thank you gifts for the teachers, and always make a few extra as I like to keep some for myself and for family. Of course, this year, is a little different, and I had more reason than most years to keep one for myself, as I have been doing all of the home schooling since lockdown begun!!

This year, my youngest and I decided to make rosette ribbons, using some of the supplies I already had in my sewing room, with personalised drawings by daughter scanned onto photo-fabric and sewn to the centre of each. Mine says ‘You’re the best mum and teacher’! Love it!

The result looks fantastic and I proudly wore mine during my daughter’s last day of term. Now it’s in my sewing room, pinned to one of my quilts!

Proudly wearing my rosette

At some point I’ll type up the instructions to make these. They are fun, easy and can be easily personalised for anyone or any occasion.

Till next time,

Mel x

Click here for A-Z list of movies featuring quilts.
Click here for free patterns.

Published by

Melony Patch

Patchwork quilter into all things crafty and homely, and with an interest in mental well-being.

2 thoughts on “‘Best home-school teacher ever’”

Leave a comment