Saying goodbye to quilts

Maybe I’m little bit too sentimental, but I find it hard – or maybe bitter-sweet – when a quilt, or the last of a series of quilts kits, is sold. It’s nice to know that they’re going somewhere where they will be appreciated, and in the case of the quilt kits, that it will provide someone with a project they will hopefully enjoy and one in which they can put their own stamp on, but it does feel a little sad too.

A few months ago, I sold my ‘Hearts with Secret Pocket’ quilt – it went all the way to Thailand! I don’t think I imagined it travelling so far. When I first created this quilt, I had designed it so that it would be a perfect snuggle quilt to share with a loved one, maybe cuddled up on the sofa. It featured twelve hearts, with one concealing a secret pocket so that love notes or little tokens of affection could be placed within to surprise a loved one. It’s a lovely quilt, which can also be used as a wall-hanging. I really hope the new owner will love it just as much as I loved designing and making it.

Hearts with Secret Pocket by Melanie Vincent

If you like the pattern, you can make your own. The for the ‘Hearts with Secret Pocket’ quilt is available via my Etsy shop (click here).

I also recently sold the last of my quilt kits for my ‘Home for Christmas’ quilt, another design I really enjoyed working on. This quilt features Christmas trees and stars, as well as little houses, in a folksy design, featuring traditional festive fabrics and colours. Of course, July is often thought of as the perfect month to start working on Christmas projects, so it’s quite apt that the last one was sold in July!

Home for Christmas by Melanie Vincent

Although all the kits have now sold, the pattern to make the ‘Home for Christmas’ quilt is also available via my Etsy shop (click here) and I’m currently working on a quilt based on a variation of this design which will also be for sale via my Etsy shop – ‘all’ that’s left for me to do is the quilting (!) and I’m hoping it’ll be ready for sale in time for Christmas!

For more of my kits and patterns, please take a look at my Melony Patch Etsy shop, and for free patterns on my blog, check out the link below.

Till next time,

Mel x

Click here for free patterns.
Click here for an A-Z list of my quilt spots.

Published by

Melony Patch

Patchwork quilter into all things crafty and homely, and with an interest in mental well-being.

Leave a comment