Quilt Spot January 2022

And Quilt Spot returns after a non-planned hiatus. The truth is, I haven’t actually watched much telly in the last few months, and the programmes I have been watching didn’t have any quilts in them! (How dare they!)

January saw just one spot in ‘The Hand that Rocks the Cradle’, a movie I hadn’t seen since it came out in the early 1990s. I had forgotten how horrible this movie is. A nanny is set on wrecking the family she goes to work for as a form of revenge for the death of her husband. Rebecca De Mornay plays the nanny, and she is brilliantly creepy and a masterfully manipulating. Scary stuff to let someone like that into your life and home, and be completely oblivious to their intentions, whilst they prey on your insecurities and weaknesses.

The phrase “the hand that rocks the cradle” refers to the power of influence a parent has over their children, and potentially therefore the future and the world.

There are three quilts I spotted in this movie. The first is in the main bedroom. A beautiful soft blue and white quilt, with eight-petalled flower motifs. A close up of the quilts shows that it has been hand quilted.

The bed in the nanny’s room has a lovely forest green and white tree of life quilt, and in the little girl’s room, there is a lovely quilt which seems is made of large and smaller square blocks featuring a range of colours including whiteit.

Have you spotted any quilts in movies or on the telly? I’d love to know. Drop me a line and share your ‘spots’ with me.

Till next time,

Mel x

Click here for an A-Z list of my quilt spots.

Published by

Melony Patch

Patchwork quilter into all things crafty and homely, and with an interest in mental well-being.

3 thoughts on “Quilt Spot January 2022”

  1. I loved the movie, The Mirror Has Two Faces (1996), with a quilt hanging in Barbara Streisand’s apartment. Great music too! Enjoy!
    Jan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment