Quilt Spot May 2020

Yikes! We’re coming to the end of June and I’m only just sitting down now to write my Quilt Spot post for May!! I’ve been a little busy lately, hence it’s all gone a bit quiet on the Melony Patch front.

The month of May saw a number of quilt spots. First up, was a new teen movie ‘The Half of It’ (2020), about a young smart girl who helps a jock write ‘love letters’ to his crush. When I first saw the trailer, I thought it was going to be a modern day version of the 1990 movie ‘Cyrano de Bergerac’, which I enjoyed when in my late teens, but the only similarity really is in one person enlisting the help of another to write down how they feel to their loved one. There’s a nice twist to the story, and some lovely quilts too – in the female lead’s room and in the male lead’s room, and both feature half square triangles.

Another movie where a quilt was spotted was ‘Housesitter’ (1992), which I’ve seen a number of times. The quilt was part of a yard sale to raise money for the PTA. Very simple looking, based on little square patches in solid colours, and if you blinked you might have missed it!

I quite like ‘Housesitter’, even though it’s all about lying and making up stories to hide the truth! It’s entertaining and quite endearing and the feeling I come away with is that anything can happen if you believe in it strongly enough.

Then there was ‘Mercury Rising’ (1998), a thriller about a young boy who is on the autism spectrum who cracks a top secret code that has been published in a puzzle book to ‘test’ how ‘uncrackable’ it is! It’s a fast-paced action thriller with Bruce Willis – not really my sort of thing – but enjoyable and the little boy is very endearing. What struck me most was the language people used to describe the little boy’s condition… I think today we would use more sensitive terms. The quilt was on the little boy’s bed. Hard to see as, of course, it wasn’t the focus of the scene (!), but the pattern looked like large Dresden plates, in soft florals.

And lastly, Dolly Parton’s series ‘Heartstrings’ on Netflix, which my youngest really enjoyed. All episodes are titled after Dolly Parton songs, and are loosely based on the subject of each. The stories are simple, and the focus is always on love, family, friendship, and pulling through difficult times. There were a number of quilts spotted throughout, as I think you would expect from a country-themed series!

Have you spotted any quilts in movies, series or on the telly? Let me know! Share your spots with me.

Till next time!

Mel x

Click here for an A-Z list of my quilt spots.

Published by

Melony Patch

Patchwork quilter into all things crafty and homely, and with an interest in mental well-being.

2 thoughts on “Quilt Spot May 2020”

Leave a comment